True Grit (2010)

Posted: March 23, 2011 in Hollywood

True Griit (2010)

A tough U.S. Marshal helps a stubborn young woman track down her father’s murderer.

Directors:

Ethan CoenJoel Coen

Writers:

Joel Coen (screenplay), Ethan Coen (screenplay)

The Coen brothers are known for being one of the best filmmakers of our time. They both
compliment each other perfectly.I’m not much of a fan of the western movies but still I was really interested how the movie was after listening to all the reviews it got.I have not watched the original version of the movie which was made in 1969 so that left the comparing factor out of the picture.I was sure that Jeff Bridges would be awsome in the movie but dint have much hope to like the movie, not atleast after the Coen Bros’ last year movie ‘No Country For Old Men'(not my cup of tea).

After seeing the Coen brothers new film, I have to say. My low expactations were totally brought up through the sky. The movie actually deserved all the hype it had, what an incredible film. The atmosphere, clothing, and the buildings reminded me of the old classic Hollywood westerns they used to make. I had a feeling of nostalgia watching the movie through the end. I felt transported to another time period of the old western.Jeff Bridges is awsome as the drunkard Rooster Cogburn(as expected). Matt Damon and Josh Brolin were as usual amazing.But the true star of the film has to be Hailee Steinfeld.She was amazing in the movie, I truly believe that this is her breakout performance. She totally deserved the Oscar nomination.

I thank the Coen Brothers for growing the interest in me towards the western movies.It was a great experience watching this movie n I recommend too all of you even if you are not a fan of Coe Brothers or the western movies.

Leave a Reply

